Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


The User Accounts section of SoftNAS allows administrators to add, edit, remove and manage user groups and users.


Adding a New User

Adding a new user is very easy. Simply follow the steps given below.

  1. On the Local Users tab, click the Create a New User button.
    The Create a User page will be displayed.



  2. In the User Details section, enter the name of the user in the Username text entry box.

  3. Enter the user ID in the User ID text entry box.

  4. Enter the real name of the user in the Real Name text entry box.

  5. Enter the home directory to which the user has access in the Home Directory field.

  6. Select the shell from the Shell drop-down list.

  7. Specify the type of the access for the user in the Password field. The available options are No password required, No login allowed, Normal password and pre-encrypted password.
    Scroll down to access more options. 




  8. In the Password Options section, the Password Changed field specifies when the password has been changed for the user.

  9. Specify the date of expiry of password in the Expiry Date field.

  10. Enter the minimum number of days for password change in the Minimum Days text entry box.

  11. Enter the maximum number of days for password change in the Maximum Days text entry box.

  12. Enter the number of days to warn in the Warning Days text entry box.

  13. Enter the number of inactive days allowed for the user in the Inactive Days text entry box.

  14. Specify whether the user must be forced to change the password in the next login or not by choosing Yes or No option.
     Scroll down for more options. 




  15. In the Group Membership section, select the primary group to which the user belongs to, in the Primary Group field.

  16. Select the secondary groups for the user by choosing the groups in All Groups section and pressing the > button to move them to In Groups section.

    Scroll down for more options. 



  17. Specify whether the user must be moved to home directly when the directory is changed or not by choosing Yes or No option.

  18. Specify whether the user ID must be changed on files or not by choosing No, Home Directory or Yes option.

  19. Specify whether the user group ID must be changed on files or not by choosing No, Home Directory or Yes option.

  20. Specify whether the user can be modified in other modules or not by choosing Yes or No option.

  21. Specify whether the group be renamed when the user name is changed or not by choosing Yes or No option.

  22. Click the Save button.

The new user will be added to the list of existing users.


Creating a New User Group

Creating a New User Group is very easy. Simply follow the steps given below. 

  1. Navigate to Local Groups tab.

  2. Click the Create a New Group button.
    The Create User Group page will be displayed. 



  3. Enter the name of the group in the Group Name text entry box.

  4. Enter the group ID in the Group ID text entry box.

  5. Specify the type of the access for the group in the Password field. The available options are No password required, pre-encrypted password and Normal password.
  6. Select the users for the group by choosing the users in All Users section and pressing the > button to move them to Users in Group section.

  7. In the Upon Save section, specify whether the group ID must be changed on files or not by choosing No, Home Directory or Yes option.

  8. Specify whether the group must be modified in other modules or not by choosing Yes or No option.

  9. Click the Save button. 

The new user group will be added.


Disabling a User

  1. Select the user ID to be disabled from the Local Users list.

  2. Click the Disable Selected Users button.
    The Disable Users page asking to confirm the disabling of the selected user will be displayed. 



  3. Click the Disable Users button. 

The selected user will be disabled.


Enabling a User

  1. Select the user to enable from the Local Users list.

  2. Click the Enable Selected Users button.
    The Enable Users page confirming the enabling of the selected user will be displayed. 



Deleting a User

  1. Select the user to be deleted from the Local Users list.

  2. Click the Delete Selected Users button.
    The Delete Users page asking to confirm the deleting of the selected user will be displayed. 



  3. Click the Delete Users button.
    The selected user will be deleted from all the entries at different modules.